Duncan, over at FM Tech brought an excellent piece by “John” on commentary.co.za to my attention. The subject is Facebook Humanism. The intro goes like this:

I dislike insipid and vacuous attempts at ‘caring’ at the best of times, but it’s becoming depressingly apparent that the internet has resulted in a new breed of insincere sincerity: Facebook humanism.

It’s one of the reasons I went to all the trouble of checking out of Hotel California, as the process has been dubbed. (To leave Facebook you have to fill in this form – there’s a group explaining the process here.)

Sadly, commentary.co.za doesn’t allow me to like to a particular piece so I’ve posted the full text below the line. You can find the full post here. Thanks to Darren for supplying the link that I couldn’t see on commentary.co.za.

