My brother accused me last night of showing an obvious bias on this forum. So I had a look at what I’ve posted so far and I have to concede that he may have a point – there has been a rather unhealthy focus on Microsoft. I’d like to point out that it wasn’t deliberate but merely a function of stories that caught my eye in the first week or so of doing this blog. Can I help it if a certain monopolist was in the news for all the wrong reasons? 😉

However, since I am now aware of this apparent bias I shall endevour to post stories about other areas of technology that interest me. But before I do that, I HAVE to post another piece that concerns Redmond, albeit tangentially.

Research house Evans Data has just released a new report that indicates a dramatic shift in the priorities of North American software developers. According to the press release there is now a move away from Windows:

“Windows dominance on the client is cracking … Targeting of the Windows OS has declined by 12% from a year ago, continuing a two-year gradual decline. Currently 64.8% of North American developers are targeting some version of Windows, as opposed to 74% last year and this is expected to drop another 2% in the coming year. “

The company also notes that while Windows remains the largest market segment developers are increasing targeting Linux (up 34% from 8.8% a year ago to 11.8% today).

You can read the full press release here and if you want to purchase the survey send an email to sales@evansdata.com. Oh yes, you may want to mention the title of the report: The Spring 2007 North American Development survey.

